"Unacceptable delay -"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

My wife is having fever from last two months. Every day she needs to take 5 - 6 Paracetamol. This is going on from last two months. Apparently, doctors claim she has symptoms of TB. In the last two months, she has been through certain test (X-ray, CT Scan, Biopsy, etc) to diagnose the problem. Needless to say that getting each test was a painful task and numerous amount of waiting time. The last test was an operation (Lymb node Biopsy) on 2nd April and we were been told that the results should be ready "very Shortly". and the medication will soon start. However, even today (April 15), we are not sure when the results will be available and the medication will start. When I try to reach the consultant, I have been told by the secretary in very unprofessional behaviour that we will contact you once the report is available. They implied kindly do not call me again. My wife is suffering from fever and with every day her health is getting poorer. When you try to reach GP, they tell you that they cant do anything as the reports are awaited and if it is really bad, please visit A&E. The A&E is not willing to take you as she is not unwell enough to be admitted. we really feel deprived the way she is been treated.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about the delay your wife has been experiencing with regards to obtaining test results and a treatment plan. Because of the very specific nature of your concerns, we would need to be able to investigate your wife’s case in more depth and detail in order to be able to provide you with an informed response. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would therefore very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about the delay your wife has been experiencing with regards to obtaining test results and a treatment plan. Because of the very specific nature of your concerns, we would need to be able to investigate your wife’s case in more depth and detail in order to be able to provide you with an informed response. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would therefore very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful