"Fractured humerus"

About: Leeds General Infirmary

I fractured my humerus on Dec 29 in Shropshire but the only way I could get into the Leeds system was to go to A&E, despite being asked not to use them if absolutely necessary. Have doctors/consultants heard of email? Since then I have seen 5 different consultants/registrars but have received virtually no information about how to manage my fracture. At my 8 week visit I was asked if I could move my arm above my head and out to the side at 90 degrees - this after being told to keep the arm in a sling! I was referred for physio at this point (although I had asked for this much earlier) & finally got an appointment at the 13 week mark. All the information I've found on other UK hospital websites suggests this is much to late to start physio. It's now nearly 16 weeks since the break & the use of my arm is still limited and painful & I can't drive which is the most frustrating aspect. I don't see either consultant or physio for another two weeks. I have found the consultants, with one exception, to have no customer care skills & an assumption that the patient knows what to do. I asked one consultant why there were no FAQs regarding this fracture & was told every one is different. I appreciate this but there are some generic things that surely could be included, e.g. Can I take the sling off by a certain date; how long do I have to sleep sitting up; normally how long before I can drive? I am a great believer in the NHS & my GP is brilliant however my experience at the Fracture Clinic has been very poor. All I wanted was some useful information that would enable my arm to heal in the best possible manner. I'm now wondering if I'll ever have a straight arm & be able to drive again. I've also not been referred for a bone scan which is a worry as I'm 60 plus.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns.

I was very sorry to read that you feel you have had such a poor experience whilst in our care, therefore have passed your comments onto the Matron and the Head of nursing for the Fracture Clinic at Leeds General Infirmary so that they can address the issues you have raised.

If you wish to discuss these matters further please do not hesitate to contact the Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

You can contact PALS on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Once again let me thank you taking the time to write to us and post your views.

Kind regards

Rosie

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience