"Emergency services excellent follow up very..."

About: St Thomas' Hospital (London)

I had a bad fall on Sunday last 05/04 and attended St Thomas A&E. The hospital was very busy due to the bank holiday and I ended up staying there for 7 hours. This in itself was not a problem as it was understandable and all the staff in A&E were extremely professional and friendly while operating in an obviously difficult environment. I was diagnosed with multiple fractures to my humerus severe bruising and require surgery. The issue I have is the follow up process since then. Although I have been told I need surgery and I have a severe fracture - I have been unable to find out when it is scheduled for - I was initially told it was possiblly Monday, I then received a call on Monday evening to say it would not be until at least Wednesday and since I have heard nothing. I am in significant pain and haven't been able to go to work and will be unable to do so until this problem is sorted. I find it extremely poor that a patient can be left in limbo waiting day on day for a call that may or may not come. As I am not private I feel that I will automatically be bumped to the bottom of the queue if anyone else comes along. All this while my bones are fusing incorrectly. There must be a better way to handle this. It. Is surely not the ethos of the NHS..

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Thomas' Hospital

I am sorry to learn that you are having difficulties in arranging your follow up appointment. It is not possible to be certain, from reading your comments, of the reasons for the delay. However, it you still do not have an appointment by the time of reading this response, please contact PALS on 020 7188 8801, 020 7188 8803 or at pals@gstt.nhs.uk. PALS will make contact with the service management team for the department concerned, who will investigate the situation and make sure that your appointment is arranged.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful