"very poor service at eye department march 2015"

About: Maidstone District General Hospital

after waiting 50 minutes at the rapid check in the doctor refused to see me,reason i need eye drops and would not be allowed to drive afterwards.no mention of this on the letter sent to me so was unable to prepare. after driving in. was sent home.another wasted afternoon.got to find out afterwards that the hospital said i discharged myself.complete lie.stay away from the eye department its a complete nightmare.only advise i can give is to try and find another nhs hospital .stay away from maidstone hospital eye department at all costs.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Dear Mr Noble, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience of the ophthalmology service at Maidstone Hospital. We can appreciate your frustration in not being made aware of the limitations around driving when you attended for your appointment. We note from our records that you contacted the Patient Advice and Liaison Service about this issue in March and as a result, the clinical administration unit are reviewing the letter template they use to try to improve the information provided to patients. We hope this reassures you of our commitment to learn from our patients and use their feedback constructively in developing our services. Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful