"GP referral for cardiology appointment"

About: Leith Community Treatment Centre Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh at Little France / Cardiology

(as the patient),

In October 2014 I was referred for a routine specialist cardiology appointment at the Leith Community Treatment Centre. I gather appointments are made via Edinburgh Royal Infirmary.

At the end of January I asked my GP to chase my appointment as I had waited 12 weeks. Two weeks ago, secretarial staff at the Restalrig Park Medical Centre made further attempts to chase for an appointment but they could not get a response. Recently I went to the Leith Community Treatment Centre with a copy of my referral letter. I was advised by the Receptionist on the first floor that a week after my appointment in October 2014 my referral was rejected and a letter should have been sent to my GP. I checked with my GP and no letter has been received. So I have waited for 5 months for an appointment which didnt exist and during this time my symptoms have worsened.

My GP has advised me that he will be making a formal complaint and I will be doing the same. My GP will be requesting another appointment asap

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Customer Relations and Feedback Team, NHS Lothian

Dear Astrantia

I am very sorry to read your post. If you have not already made a formal complaint please contact the Customer Relations and Feedback Team on 0131 536 3370, email craft@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk or write to Waverley Gate, 2-4 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3EG and we will look into this for you. If you have already made a formal complaint the matter will be investigated and you will receive a written response.

Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns as feedback is important to us.

  • Astrantia thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too