"Very disappointed,the staff are really rude,not..."

About: St James's University Hospital

The staff of the Ward 44of St James hospital leeds,is the dirtiest ever,easily you can get an infection with the nurses who rarely wash there hands,with the same gloves they cleanthe wounds and the back passage then touch the curtain then toutch the food on the table of the patient if the patient ask for?,the gloves can be dropped on the floor and they put them and they ask you can I have a look and they toutch the dressing horrible,the nurses are really rude,not helpful,If you buzz, no body come to see you,they dont care no smile even with the senior nurse,toilet and bathroom are dirty,the person who clean the room sart with the bins they wipe them from inside then with the same gloves they wipe the patients beds and tables its more than horrible. And when you make a remarque they don't accept and on your back talk to the consultant that this person misbehaved .Whats a shame.You should have more communication with your patient and be professional and feel the pain of your patient.The government spend a lot for the nhs but the problem of the NHS is the personnel. Poor NHS.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry that you feel you have been let down by the standards of care and cleanliness on ward 44 at St James Hospital.

The service and level of hygiene that you have described is not acceptable and not what we expect of our staff memebers.I have passed your comments onto the Head of Nursing and Matron for ward 44; I would also ask that you contact the Trusts Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net so that we can discuss this matter further with you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write to us.

With kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience