"aftercare of gallbler removal ,rather lack of care"

About: Southmead Hospital

Had gallblader removed yesterday after being movedtoo recovery blood pressure slightly low, could not urinate ,felt week and dizzy ,in the evening still the same said i dont feel well enough too go home still same symptoms,kept saying see how you go this is at 8 oclock moved too anougher ward then told ward had too be closed not enough staff,moved and same symtoms i said its late i am either going or staying i can not get transport at 12 at night they said there are no beds,so said i might as well go have not been too toilet could hardly walk ,blood presssure slightly low,i think its terrible hospital no beds ,wards being closed and 1 uncareing nurse spoils it for the good nurses.no care,rubbish hospital,cold corridors,no tv,no radio.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Connor – I am sorry that your experience was poor. However, I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of the service as this allows the Trust to learn from the issues raised. Regrettably, the demand for acute beds across Bristol and the South Gloucestershire area is severe due to an identified lack of community beds. This was flagged as an issue in North Bristol Trust’s recent CQC inspection. The community bed shortage has the effect of creating pressure on all hospitals in the area, since patients are unable to be discharged in the controlled and timely manner we would wish. Unfortunately this demand for beds can impact on patients experience in the manner which you have described, but please be assured we are working with our commissioners to find a solution to the problem. This will reduce patient moves and also ease the pressure on our A&E services as it will be easier to admit patients. It will also mean fewer cancellations for elective surgery, which often have to be delayed due to emergency cases using the available bed capacity. Thank you again for your comments I hope that you now well on the road to recovery. Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful