About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I can't put into words how devastated myself and my family are at the highly unprofessional and inappropriate discharge letter we have received after our visit to childrens A+E on Monday. You take your child to A+E, or in our case the GP sent us, because you are concerned about your child. We are not stupid and I do not appreciate the way we have been treated. We shall be putting a formal complaint in. As a professional myself I can tell the difference between a poorly baby and a temper tantrum!! Offended to say the least. The RVI is meant to be a specialist childrens centre but I don't trust their assessment at all. I never knew babies could wake in the night having a temper tantrum. Would like to never go back.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on NHS Choices. We are very sorry to hear you had such a poor experience of our service. We always try to ensure parents receive a discharge letter as well as having the findings of the assessment discussed with them. We would also want parents to have the opportunity to discuss this assessment and express any concerns they have about the care provided to their child. We would like to apologise if this did not happen on this occasion. As your review is posted anonymously, we are unable to look into the specific details of your child’s case. However we would be keen to do so to understand how your experience could have been improved. As such, it would be very useful to have further details so that we can look into your specific issues. Please do feel free to contact Jane Gibson, Directorate manager on 0191 282 5261 or a member of the Patient Relations Team on 0191 223 1382.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful