"Rude nurse on Ward 1, Ninewells"

About: Ninewells Hospital / Cardiology

(as the patient),

I was a patient for about 3 weeks in this ward.

The nurses were very often quite rude and complained when my relatives asked to speak to the doctor.

One nurse in particular was very rude and I dreaded when she was on duty. She bullied all the women in the bay and made me feel silly when I asked what the tablets were for. I needed help to get to the bathroom and she told me off for buzzing when I needed to go. She told me she was too busy and I would have to wait then humiliated me for wetting the bed.

I felt very ashamed and cried until a student nurse helped me and changed my bed. The student nurse often felt the strain from working with this nurse but I felt that the student was the only bright spot in the ward and I have written to the university to praise her.

This nurse also bullied the student and shouted at her when the student noticed that the tablets were out of date in the trolley. I felt very frightened of the nurse. She was rough and when she washed me, she didn't shut the curtains so everyone could see me.

I hope never to return to this ward.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Caroline Hiscox, Associate Nurse Director, NHS Tayside

Dear dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with me through Patient Opinion. I am sorry that you were unwell and required an inpatient stay of 3 weeks; I hope you are recovering now. Your post makes very difficult reading and I apologise that this was the experience you and your relatives had in Ward 1. The concerns that you have raised are significant and do not reflect the professional standards of practice and behaviour instilled in the nursing profession to ensure that dignity is preserved and that patients are treated with kindness, respect and compassion. Delivering the fundamentals of nursing care effectively and listening to people and their concerns is a key aspect of nursing and a core value of NHS Tayside. I apologise that you felt frightened, humiliated and ashamed during your stay it must have been a very upsetting for you and your family at an already difficult time.

I am glad that the student nurse represented a ‘bright spot’ in the ward. Providing a safe learning environment and excellent mentorship for nursing students is really important however I sense that this was not your observation. I will link with the University to explore student feedback. Thank you for taking the time to commend her good practice.

I am saddened that you feel unable to return to this ward or that others may have to endure what you have described. I will share this post with the ward 1 team and we will work together to ensure that this episode is not repeated. If you feel comfortable to contact me it would be extremely helpful to allow me to address individual practice concerns that you have raised but also whole team learning about your experience. This information can remain confidential if that is your preference.

If you require to use our services in the future I am confident you will have a more positive experience however if that is not the case then raising concerns with the Senior Charge Nurse ( Navy Blue Uniform ) when you are receiving care will provide the opportunity to address issues quickly.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope that we speak soon. I can be contacted through feedback.tayside@nhs.net or by phoning 0800 027 5507.

Kind regards

Caroline McQuillian Associate Nurse Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful