"Not much"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Not much

What could be improved

Everything. I have also been in this hospital many times, but have now asked to be taken to Gloucester Royal when I need treatment again.

Alot of the staff are less than polite, the doctors do not speak clearly to you and when you ask them to repeat anything all I got is grunted at. Also if you do complain as I did, all you get is the cold shoulder treament. Very childish. Yes it has been cleaned up a tad since last I was in, but that hardly compensates for their other failings. Another thing, it is every patients right to refuse treatment if they do not want it. I refused an oxygen test, and pointed out there is another way to do the same test without it being so painful. All I got was mumbling and the walking off bit. After which they didnt seem to care.

I have had this disease all my life, had all the tests done before, I think I know what is best for me, I donot need a junior doctor being sarcastic when I pointed out I had had the same medication in the past and it has not worked.

Anything else?

Yes, listen to the patients. Do not always think you know best.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Many thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent experience. We do take the views of our patients very seriously and would welcome personal contact, because in order to look into your concerns in detail we would need more information.

If you would like to make contact please call the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 0193282.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful