"Not a lot"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

(as a relative),

What I liked

Not a lot

What could be improved

Doctors diagnosis and waiting times in A+E

Anything else?

We took my diabled sister age 26 to A+E in the car straight after having a fall. She was kept waiting for an hour whilst other minor injuries were dealt with. The hospital totally failed to recognize that she had had a stroke! She was patched up with a plaster and sent home. My mum and dad took her back 3 days later as my sister kept falling out of bed. The doctors in A+E were going to send her home again only my sister fell off the toilet in the hospital whilst waiting to be sent home, that was the only reason they decided to admit her. While my sister was in the hospital she was moved from one ward to another as the hospital was shuffling beds. My sister was in there for a number of weeks and in all that time she was never actually treated for a stroke, until a consultant came to see her from the GRH and said that he thought she had a stroke. She was then transferred to the GRH in Gloucester where she stayed for another period of weeks up until christmas eve, when she was then moved to respite care where she is still recovering. Before the stroke my sister although disabled could walk short distances, now she has to rely on her wheelchair and is only just able to get out to transfer to a car or get into bed. If she had been given the correct diagnosis and treatment in the first place she may have had a quicker recovery. It also concerns me as strokes can and often kill that the hospital can miss such a serious conditition. This to me is totally unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Thank you taking the time to post your comments and we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your family's recent experience. We do take the views of our patients and families very seriously and would welcome personal contact, because in order to look into your concerns in detail we would need more information.

If you would like to make contact please call the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 0193282.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful