"hard working staff but not enough of them"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary / General medicine

(as the patient),

absolutely cannot recommend frontline staff enough, hard working and professional. However simply not enough of them day or night. Everyone including myself has to wait for response to buzzer, results from scans and ultrasounds, and routine observations. in 3 days and saw a consultant once and that was because I complained. He was arrogant and completly indifferent, not even telling me his name. I asked him to contact my consultant as it was a repeat of previous condition and he simple said "he cant tell me anything I don't know already". I said well he wouldn't because he his a she... did not go down well especially as it was infront of his two underlings standing behind. in the time he spent annoying me they could have responded to buzzers and done the four obs that were over due. the morning rounds discussion took place directly outside our bay and we could here details of all patients care discussed Totally unconfidential yet these were the hierachy? consultant need re training in humility despite medical specialism and spend less, non visible consultants and TV installations etc for people that are too ill to even consider watching it let alone take second mortgage out to pay for it and more on hardworking frontline staff

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Gill Pickersgill, Communications & Engagement Officer, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent inpatient stay at Doncaster Royal Infirmary. You have not said what ward you were a patient on, to enable us to investigate your concerns could you please contact our Patient Experience Team on Tel: 01302 553140 or Freephone: 0800 028 8059 or Email: pals.dbh@dbh.nhs.uk.

Look forward to hearing from you so that we can discuss further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful