"Bowel Cancer After Care"

About: Princess Royal University Hospital / Colorectal surgery Queen Mary's Hospital / Colorectal surgery

(as the patient),

I was initially treated very well. My surgeon was brilliant. My surgery in 2011 was sucessfull, but my follow up care has been disgraceful.

I have had to constantly chase the hospital for check ups. I finally had a check up and was told a biopsy had been taken as I had sore patches on the bowel. That was in 2012. I have not had any contact from the team since.

I have repeatedly phoned and written to the hospital (Queen Marys in Sidcup) and my consultant but nothing. When I finally threatened to make a formal complaint they got on the ball. I have been told I was due a check up in April 2013, but because of changes to the hospital I had fallen through the cracks.

I then had to request to be transferred back to the hospital I originally had the surgery in (Princess Royal Uni Hosp in Bromley) as my consultant was now based there. I requested this transfer in February 2015 and I am still waiting for a response from the PRUH. I think this is outrageous and totally unacceptable.

I will be making a formal complaint to BOTH hospitals as I feel they are putting my life at risk.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cathy Varley, PALS Manager, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

I am extremely concerned to hear about this. Please could you contact the PALS service at our princess Royal site to see how we can assist in getting you back into the correct system and reviewed. Our email contact is kch-tr.palskent@nhs.net

  • Redjax thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Redjax (the patient)

Thanks Cathy, I have been in touch with PALS at Queen Marys who were supposed to have sent my paperwork through but I am still waiting. I will forward you the series of emails.