"Rusty ambulance"

About: Scottish Ambulance Service / Patient Transport Service

(as a staff member),

I was at Raigmore Hospital in Inverness yesterday at about 11am, and saw a Patient Transport Mercedes ambulance which could only be described as a "rusty wreck".

Portrays a very poor image of this highly professional/caring service, and also must be very dispiriting for those who have to use such a vehicle to be transported to their hospital appointment etc. This ambulance needs to be replaced.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Andrew Johnson, Communications Assistant, Corporate Affairs & Engagement, Scottish Ambulance Service

picture of Andrew Johnson

Dear highpatient,

Thank you for getting in touch through Patient Opinion.

The Scottish Ambulance Service do not currently have any Mercedes vehicles providing our Patient Transport Service, however we do operate a number of Mercedes Accident and Emergency Ambulances. These vehicles are relatively new to the fleet and the majority are under three years old so it would be highly unlikely that they would be in the condition you have described.

There are a number of private companies who transport patients and visitors to Raigmore Hospital and it may be one of these vehicles that caused your concern. If available, a registration number would have allowed us to identify the vehichle to give assurances or to allow us to take appropriate actions if required.

If you do have any further comments now, or in the future please don't hesitate to contact me at scotamb.communications@nhs.net

Kind regards,

Andrew

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by highpatient (a staff member)

SN56EMV. It's a VW, not a Merc. And yes, unfortunately, it is a Scottish Ambulance Service vehicle.

Response from Andrew Johnson, Communications Assistant, Corporate Affairs & Engagement, Scottish Ambulance Service

picture of Andrew Johnson

Dear highpatient,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have raised this issue with the General Manager for the North Division who will investigate your concerns.

Kind regards,

Andrew

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful