"horrendous experience"

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

My 84 year old dad was admitted with Pneumonia on New Years Day 2015 and the whole experience from beginning to end was horrendous. Had it not been for us going in every mealtime he would not have managed anything to eat he was so poorly. He was never washed and became so confused due to his infection he fell on the ward due to not being adequately supervised and cared for. The dirty practice of the nursing staff left a lot to be desired and despite reporting the bad care to the matron nothing changed until we demanded he was transferred to Shotley Bridge Hospital for some decent dignified nursing care. This is just a brief summary of the awful time we experienced there is a lot more to tell which will be going in as an official complaint !

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your father's recent admission to the University Hospital of North Durham I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with his care and your experience on this occasion and we will make sure your feedback is passed to the Matron and the Chief Operating Officer as well so they are both aware of your comments. As you have mentioned you will be making a formal complaint you can do this in writing to Patient Experience Team, Appleton House, Lanchester Road, Durham, DH1 5XZ. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774