"Out of hours service"

About: Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital

14th Feb 2015 (Sat) about 10.30 hours, I visited the clinic if I could see a doctor. I just returned home from Spain at 2.00 am 14th Feb. My breathing was wheezes and cough out dark yellow mucus. I am suffering from miner Asthma and High Blood Pressure. There was sand storm in Spain activated my asthma during my holiday. It caused me cough all nights for 5 days and vomiting during my journey back home. I was so tired and very uncomfortable. The receptionist was not happy that I had not phoned before my visit. They were very rude and raised their voice when talking to me. I told them one would not hear my voice on the phone because my voice was affected by the inhaler. They said I did it once last year. I replied yes, no one would hear my voice. At 10.05 hours 19.4.2014 (Sat), my asthma was very bad;cough out green mucus and blood. My voice sound liked horse. And the receptionist was on the phone with the IT specialist for more than an hour. They could not connect the system. I did not see what was the problem because there was no patient in the clinic. How could I get help if I did not visit the clinic. The doctor was very nice and prescribed me Clarithromycin and Prednisolone. They just checked all my detail and helped me. This time was the same; only one patient was in the clinic. They first told me to come back in the afternoon. Later, they told me to go the SRH because they were going to close in the afternoon. I was surprised the clinic would closed in the afternoon. The husband of the other patient offered me a ride to SRH. I was numb and said Thank you. The senior RGN came out of the room and told the receptionist they would like to see me because there was no patient in the clinic. They were waiting two patients to come but they did not arrive. The receptionist held me for registration. They did not allowed the SRGN to see me. They seemed has a problem with the computer. They once again raised their voice shouted at me why I did not fill all my detail in the form. Then I replied they told me not to fill in the form and go to the SRH. I had filled in most of the detail already. Later, the SRGN helped them to find my name in the system. It took them about 15 to 20 minutes fill my detail on the system. They require patient care training and computer skill training. The SRGN is very nice and helpful. They prescribed me Amoxicillin and Prednisolone. I was happy with the doctor and the senior RGN service. I appreciated their help. Can any one have a word with the receptionist, please? If they are not happy with the job they should not work over there. The other point is if the Out of hour service at the Bognor Hospital open on Sat and Sun from 09.00 to 20.00 hours. Where can you find help if the service is closed? Yes, they can phoned 111, but, it may not be easy when you are very ill with problem with the airway/ sound box. Can they offer walk in service, please? As I know, many city offer walk in service. It will help A&E service

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital

Dear Ms Pang I am sorry to read that you were unhappy about the attitude of the receptionist during your visit, though I’m pleased to read that you were more satisfied with the service provided by the doctor involved. My concern however is that your message refers to a visit to the urgent care centre at Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital, and that you went there on Saturday, 14 February 2015. You say as well that you also went to the centre on Saturday, 19 April last year, 2014. Sussex Community NHS Trust runs a minor injuries unit at Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital, but this centre is open on weekdays only 9am to 5pm. It is not open at weekend. It’s not easy then for me to review what might have gone wrong here for you. I wonder if you could check again which service you used, and if you believe it’s a service run by Sussex Community NHS Trust, then please contact our patient advice and liaison service so we can review this for you. Tel: 01273 242292 Email: sc-tr.serviceexperience@nhs.net) With thanks.

Response from Nick Fairclough, Head of Marketing, Communications & Intelligence, Sussex Community NHS Trust

Dear Ms Pang

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy about the attitude of the receptionist during your visit, though I’m pleased to read that you were more satisfied with the service provided by the doctor involved.

My concern however is that your message refers to a visit to the urgent care centre at Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital, and that you went there on Saturday, 14 February 2015. You say as well that you also went to the centre on Saturday, 19 April last year, 2014. The heading reads 'out of hours service'.

Sussex Community NHS Trust runs a minor injuries unit at Bognor Regis War Memorial Hospital, but this centre is open on weekdays only 9am to 5pm. It is not open at weekend. We do not run an out of hours servcei at the hospital.

It’s not easy then for me to review what might have gone wrong here for you. I wonder if you could check again which service you used, and if you believe it’s a service run by Sussex Community NHS Trust, then please contact our patient advice and liaison service so we can review this for you.

Tel: 01273 242292

Email: sc-tr.serviceexperience@nhs.net)

With thanks.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful