"Complaint about one nurse"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I was admitted to ward 306 after spending the night before in MAU, I was in treatment room 8 on both 306 and MAU, I wish to complain about a specific nurse. I am complaining due to the way they treated me, first of all I had been on the ward about two hours when they stormed in with some sort of injection, I was told by them that it was to go into my stomach I had no explanation as to what this was for and I was very disorientated luckily my mother was quick enough to ask what it was for with the response of ‘ to stop clots’ by this time they had already injected me, I still do not understand what it was for. The following morning at 8am they walked into my room making a lot of noise and abruptly woke me up asking do you need anything in a very harsh tone, I had been up half the night in pain. Also later that morning around 10:20am they came in to take some blood test samples and was quite harsh in handling both my arm and wrist, they then continued to sigh and get angry at the fact my veins were difficult to obtain. Thye kept repeating ‘I can’t do it!’ sighing and getting very annoyed towards me, at this point I was in a lot of pain due to having them try so many times, I have come up with bruising where their thumbs were pressed against my skin, (I have taken photos). The torque they used was one with a popper system but instead they decided to tie it like a ribbon, pinching and really hurting my skin when they removed it there was a red pinch mark, not like you would normally get off one. When they left I was in tears due to the way they were, it was as if they found it a problem to be in the room with me. As well as this they were very rude to my mother who when visiting first asked what room I was in and they replied, ‘eight’ in a very abrupt manner, then on the day of my discharge my mother asked if there’s was any news and the nurse replied ‘I don’t know anything wait for the doctor’ again abruptly. I must say all the other nurses were lovely, this one was just awful and had me in tears.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Dear Ms Wooton Firstly, may we apologise for the delay in responding to your review. We were very sorry to read your comments regarding your recent stay on Ward 306 and would like to apologise for any upset caused to you during this time. We will certainly ensure your feedback is shared with the relevant staff, however, without further details we are unable to respond more fully. If you wish us to further investigate this matter, you may wish to consider contacting our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on Freephone 0800 783 7691 or via email on dhft.contactpals@nhs.net, who will be able to assist you in this respect. Please accept our sincere apologies once again and also may we take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable and important feedback. Kind regards The Patient Experience Team for Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful