"CT scan technician arrived at midnight ( 4 hours..."

About: Conquest Hospital

Saturday the 28th February I was brought in ambulance from Eastbourne to A&E Conquest hosp. in Hailsham with suspect broken hip at around 6 pm. Ambulance staff were excellent, caring, compassionate and informative. During first 4 hours at A&E I was not seen by doctor or nurse to diagnose my condition. I was in great physical pain, also worrying if I would need to be operated next day. I was not offered drink(water) or food nor help to go to toilet ( I could not stand up on my own). I had an X-ray at 10 pm after which I was put on (temporary ?) ward. Again no information was offered about process of my treatment nor about extend of my condition. I learned that due to nursing staff shortage some of staff were commuting to Hailsham from London. Nurses were uncooperative, letargic, uncaring and almost hostile. I was not offered drink and food. I had to drag myself to/from toilet on special (toilet) trolley. I was told by junior doctors that A&E consultant is very busy and cannot analyse my X-rays. I was to have CT scan of my head ( I fall twice on my head when lost consciousness) soon after X-rays at 10 pm but CT technician arrived 4 hours late for their shift at midnight. I was briefly seen by A&E consultant at 3 am and discharged at that time from hospital. I was pushed on wheelchair to taxi stand and had to get and pay taxi home to Eastbourne. I am female, unable to walk and I felt not safe being driven for 40 minutes in the night by private taxi from Hailsham to Eastbourne. In 2 days after the discharge I received call from another A&E consultant at Conquest hospital informing me that my X-rays were not conclusive and that indeed I may have broken hip. I was advised to go to DGH in Eastbourne for further tests.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Conquest Hospital

We are deeply disturbed and concerned to read about your recent attendance at the A&E department, Conquest Hospital. As a Trust, it's always our aim to provide high quality care to all patients, however, your description of what happened to you does not reflect this, and we therefore apologise for the fact that your experience was poor. Please be assured that your posting has been forwarded to Lead Clinician and Management Staff within Urgent Care for review and appropriate action. However, it would be helpful if a representative could discuss what happened with you in more detail to enable them to make further enquiries. If you are willing to do this, please contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) who will make these arrangements. PALS can be contacted on 01424 758090 or by email at esh-tr.PALSH@nhs.net. We hope that you feel able to make contact.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful