"Urgent MRI scan"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I was today sent by my GP to Arrow park Hospital (10-3-2015) for what he felt was an urgent MRI scan due to a reoccurrence of a prolapsed disk into my spinal column thus showing the dangerous signs I encountered 2 years ago before my discectomy. The GP spoke the on call orthopaedic surgeon by phone explaining my symptoms and previous problems, he agreed to come to the hospital for an MRI to look further into the problems. I was greeted at MRI reception with all the documentation by a nice member of staff who simply did not have me on their system and called for someone to discuss with me why I was at the unit. After a considerable wait a different member of staff came to discuss with me and placed me in a private cubicle, what passed over the next 5 minutes we spoke was a disgraceful manner towards me, showing me a list of names and asking who will not be seen now, bombarding me with questions I did not have answers for as it was a conversation my GP had with their superior and finally being told very bluntly "stay in the cubicle and I will have to look at what we do with you!" I left after 5 min sitting in the cubicle alone and angry as I felt like a severe inconvenience to this member of staff and the department, and felt like I did nor now want to take the place of an outpatients appointment. I get very upset when I see people abusing staff in the NHS, but it would appear by my encounter today that it is more than fine to treat patients with little respect whatsoever! I did not ask to go for an MRI, I only went to my GP as I was having tingles and urinating up to 20 times a night again and wanted a tablet, he looked at my notes and arranged this visit with a consultant, what a terrible service your staff provided me today, especially when my injury was HM Forces acquired serving to protect people like the member of staff who obviously cannot handle pressure! Thank you.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. Your comments have been shared with the unit and a member of staff has been trying to get in touch with you to discuss this further. If you would like to contact us, you can ring the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. PALS can discuss the best way that we can address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful