"Confusion over discharge"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I had an operation on my femur in February. My leg had been fractured and repaired 2 years previously. This was going to be a big surgery removing the old nail and screws realigning the fracture putting a new nail, screws and bone grafting.

I was discharged with the instruction OPD 2 weeks X-ray on arrival. When I was discharged my husband noticed the discharge form said no OPD required. He questioned this twice the following day when he had to return for my discharge medication (as we had waited 5 hours on the day of discharge for the medication. When he went first time they gave him the wrong medication so he returned twice on the Saturday).

In early March I rang a secretary. It was an answerphone so I explained who I was my hospital number and that I was expecting an outpatients appointment.

The secretary rang me back in the afternoon and told me that she had looked at my DNR and no Outpatient appointment was required. I explained that I had a fractured femur to which she replied and now it's been mended it just says partial weight bearing for 6 weeks.

I asked did fractured hips get an outpatient follow up and she said yes but you don't have a fractured hip, the doctors don't see fractures once they have been mended. To which I replied could you please check with a doctor. Also could she check do I just throw these crutches away at 6 weeks. At this the secretary replied she would.

I rang again a couple of days later and again spoke to the secretary. I was told she hadn't spoken to a doctor yet but she would speak to him tomorrow and she added but it does say on your discharge no OPD required. To which I replied the discharge note incorrect. Then the secretary said she will see.

On the Friday at 8. 50 am the secretary rang. She just said can you make 9. 20 on Monday to which I replied I will try an get someone to take me. I waited for her to speak and she said you can ask him you questions yourself. And put the phone down.

Today we turned up for the appointment at 9. 20. At 10. 30 my husband asked was I to go to X-ray before seeing the doctor the answer was no. At 11. 30 we saw the doctor who looked at my previous X-rays and then said I needed to go to X-ray. We explained the situation that had occurred with the appointment and waiting today. The doctor said he wouldn't do the x-ray today because of the long wait. I could have x-ray on arrival in one months time for next appointment.

1. Why was an appointment not initiated an discharge an x-ray on arrival as requested by the consultant?

2. Why when this was questioned by my husband twice on discharge had the mistake not been spotted?

3 Why when I queried this with the consultant secretary was this note not spotted and immediately queried with the consultant?

4. Why when I attended the clinic was an x-ray not requested?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experience at the Manchester Royal Infirmary following your surgery.

It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns and the numberd questions you have rasied without being able to investigate those points in detail and provide you with an explanation and details response to each one. In order for us to be able to do this, we would very much like to hear from you directly. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experience at the Manchester Royal Infirmary following your surgery. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns and the numberd questions you have rasied without being able to investigate those points in detail and provide you with an explanation and details response to each one. In order for us to be able to do this, we would very much like to hear from you directly. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful