"Delays in check-up following bowel cancer operation"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Colorectal surgery

(as a staff member posting for a patient/service user),

This story has been posted by Healthwatch Tameside on behalf of a member of the public. We have their details and will forward any comments to them, as they do not have an email address. They said…

This man had a bowel cancer operation on 2012 at Tameside Hospital, and received excellent treatment from Dr Solka.

Is now worried because he was told he should have had camera exam and some further prescription treatment with 6 monthly checks. Previous check-ups were OK, but he is now overdue by 2-3 months. He rang the appointments service and was asked if he was trying to jump the queue!

The man and his wife don’t want to sound as though they are complaining when the original treatment was so good and the NHS so stretched, but they are worried about the delay in the check-up and the provision of new prescription drugs.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry you have had to contact us regarding your follow-up appointment. In order for us to ensure you have received it could you please contact Gregory Motler Head of Pals and complaints on 0161 922 4466 or PalsandComplaints@tgh.nhs.uk

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at

john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful