"Bad communication"

About: Salisbury District Hospital

I have been under my Consultant for around 6 years, a decision was made last year for me to have spinal surgery after epidurals stopped helping. I had to wait to be seen, then wait for a CT scan, then wait 4 months to be reviewed and then placed on the waiting list for surgery 5 weeks ago. I was told in that review that my operation would be around April 2015 as there was a bit of a backlog. I had my pre op on the 26th February 2015, and again was told it would be around April time and to ring up in a week. I rang up bookings two days ago and was rudely told that no one should have said anything and that as I had only been put on the waiting list 5 weeks ago, that I would be lucky to have the operation by July 2015. That will be 7 months waiting by that point, and 10 months since the decision to operate was made. I am not happy that valuable NHS money is being wasted by doing pre-ops when there is no actual date, and the fact that the operation is going to be more than 3 months from the pre-op, means I will have to have another pre-op.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salisbury District Hospital

Thank you for your comment. Spinal surgery is a specialist area and we know waiting times are long and appreciate how frustrating that is for our patients. We are doing all we can to work through the waiting list and are sorry that there is a delay. We were really concerned to read about your conversation with our booking team and would be grateful if you would get in touch with the Booking Manager, davina.stephens@salisbury.nhs.uk , so we can understand what happened.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful