"pointless visit to rheumatology"

About: Kettering General Hospital

After 4 years of my daughter being very unwell, we have been to so many different consultants trying to find out what is wrong with her. After going private we were referred to this department. The original appointment was meant to be on 23/12/14. This was cancelled and we had to wait until 16/2/15 for another appointment. We were really hoping for someone to actually take the time to listen to all of her symptoms, take us seriously and give us a diagnosis which explained her very many symptoms. This was all dismissed as it seemed the consultant had very quickly made up his mind before listening to us. Basically he diagnosed her with hypermobility. I did ask him if that explains her symptoms and was told no it doesn't but that's still his diagnosis. Absolutely disgusted with the NHS so far, it is unbelievable that a young girl should just be left like this for so long. I've tried to contact his secretary, but no joy as yet, still waiting for blood test results too. Complete waste of time having these consultations.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am sorry to hear about your daughters experience at the Neurology department. I hope you have now received your daughters results and have been able to speak to the secretary. I would like to talk about your problems should you wish to. I would then be able to investigate the problems you have highlighted. Please contact me on 01536 491766. Claire Handford Speciality Medicine Support Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful