"My Care"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

Hello, I was admitted to Blackburn Royal on the 9th January 2015 with a bowel obstruction, this was due to adhesions etc from previous operation in 2003. I must say the care I was given by the doctors and nurses and all staff was second to none I think the care I was given was amazing. I was in longer than I should have been -18 days- due to contracting pneumonia but this was quickly rectified. The only complaint I have is not down to the hospital, but with the ambulance service. We telephoned 999 due to the vomiting and pain I was in. I was told that I should make my own way to hospital, I was not in any condition to drive, also I we had no one to take me. My daughter did ring 999 from where she was and demanded an ambulance attend which they did. The paramedics I could not fault the looked after me until I was put in the hands of the hospital staff and everything was ok from there. Anyway thank you for your superb care. Your faithfully Ken Driver

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful