"unfair care provided"

my brother who has visited the centre for 28 days treatment was treated wrongly.. they forgot to remind him about filling in his menu so he had a few days where he couldnt eat ..he was discharged with no diagnosis and offered no help afterwards although he had all of the symptoms of schizophrenia.. he had being tried on so many medications that did not suit him that he couldnt even speak for two weeks and looked pretty much like a zombie,, us as a family had advised them to stop the medication but instead of doing so they sent him home with it and we had to take care of a patient who could hardly walk and not talk at all,, we were offered no support and we feel that he was dumped back into society and left to his own devices even though he numerously asked for help.. we feel that the service should care less about their wages and more about their patients... especially when its our families that we have to see suffer due to your poor care

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds and York Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry to hear that you feel your brother did not receive appropriate care while an inpatient and that you have been unhappy about the support you have been given now he is back in the community.

It is difficult for me to respond comprehensively on this site but if you would like to meet me to discuss your concerns further then please do so. This can be arranged through the PALS service who can be contacted on 0800 0525790 or e-mail pals.lypft@nhs.net

Our inpatient services provide care and treatment for people through a holistic care plan that includes the support someone would require in relation to their nutritional needs. On admission we complete a Nutritional Screening Tool to see if someone requires a dietician to offer advice or specific support. We do this in an attempt to help people maintain their physical health or improve it if needed.

I am sorry if there were times when you felt you brother was not supported in completing a menu but I can assure you that this would not have prevented him from receiving a meal as there is always adequate provision for everyone who is on the ward.

As part of inpatient care a Care Coordinator is always allocated from the Community Mental Health Team to plan the correct support a person will need in the community. Again this should be holistic in approach and include where needed a plan to address physical health requirements.

If people using services and their families do not agree with the treatment provided by the multidisciplinary team there is an independent support that can be provided from the advocacy service in Leeds. If you would like more information on this support then please make contact with our PALS service as above.

Once again I am sorry that you have been dissatisfied with the care we provided but I hope this response has been helpful. If you would like to meet and discuss your concerns in more detail I would be happy to meet with you personally and this can be arranged through our PALS service as outlined above.

Judith Barnes

Inpatient Service Manager

Becklin Centre