"Gastro clinic an abomination"

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

If you had been at my gastroenterological/liver clinic this week you would have found some very unhappy people. It is dark in there, I could hardly read as I squeezed into a claustrophob ic corner of a chaotic room..crowded, no seats available at one point, people standing around, some unwell asking when they woul dbe seen, others getting angry..I arrived at 3.15 for my 3.30 appointment (silly me)..never be early...there were two doctors, and never less than thirty people in that room waiting to be seen,.,.its some kind of sadism to do this to sick people doncha thin k? I was there with a chronic condition, this is not my first time, and the scene is the same. I politely asked after one hour, how long? Oh, you are now fifth in line. I worked out another 45 minutes possibly. I have to be somewhere else soon..I said..I do not want to push in, I just want to know why so few doctors are on. Within five minutes, two more doctors came. By 5 pm , I was being seen, more than one and a half hours... intolerable, absolutely intolerable, and this is about the third time experiencing this. Is there any explanation why this clinic is so so bad? And I waited two months for this appointment - I would suggest if there are so many patients that you start to prioritise them, open another clinic, treat them as human beings..and clear up that horrible area and bring some order into the chaos. The water machine was not working - and that was what we al needed..come on ..this is worse than third world.. Pam Hardyment

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you did not experience the high standards of care we aim for for all our patients. We would like the opportunity to investigate and respond to you fully. If you have not done so already, please contact us via pals.service@wmuh.nhs.uk / 020 8321 6261.