"Doctors' behaviour"

About: Rotherham Hospital / General medicine

(as the patient),

I was admitted onto an assessment ward after admitting myself through A & E. From there I was transferred to a recovery ward where I spent 2 days before being allowed home.

In the time I spent at the hospital I cannot fault my nursing care; not one tiny bit. They were all friendly, more than competent, empathic and in one case I witnessed one student nurse go far beyond the call of duty which when I told some old nurses brought tears to their eyes. They predict that this student will go far.

However I am not happy with the way the doctors treated me. I did not mind students asking me questions and assessing me but I had 3 sets of doctors examine me to find out the problem I was facing.

With the exception of one of them they all studiously avoided my eyes every time they saw me after that. When they visited me with their consultant, they were busy with their notes and laptops and never engaged. One made a really nasty value judgement. The consultant was friendly enough until he took them all into the middle of the room after my brief consultation for him to impart some whispered wisdom. If it was about me then I should have the right to know.

When a different consultant came round the next day trailing just a couple of the juniors, he was much too busy explaining what he knew about me that he overrode 3 attempts on my behalf to say something. Obviously my observations about myself are not important; he knows better. They all need some practice in better patient communications.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kerry Hollingworth, Corporate Affairs Officer, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Hello, my name is Anne Crompton, Deputy Chief Nurse at The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust. Thank you for your feedback on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the way some of our staff did not engage with you and that their communication was poor.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally so that we can address the issues which you have raised. If you would be happy to do so, please contact the Patient Experience Team on 01709 424461 who will be pleased to take your call and discuss your experience in more detail.

I intend to ensure that your feedback is shared with all staff and once again apologise for your poor experience.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful