"Appointment at Oral and Maxillofacial unit"

About: Queen's Medical Centre

Just need to let you know having traveled up to Nottingham from Wales to accompany my daughter to an appointment we waited an hour but the staff were very pleasant and apologised for the delays and this was no problem. We saw a lovely Doctor and my daughter was relieved with her prognosis and we were well informed as to the treatment needed,the nurse working with the Doctor was extremely kind and pleasant and explained to us that we then needed to go to the main Maxillofacial reception to book an appointment for her treatment,she advised us that we could discuss the date with the receptionist on duty. So all was lovely till then.The kind nurse showed us to the reception and then my Daughter handed in her paper and said she would like to make an appointment we were both very shocked at the very dismissing manner of the staff member we came across who took the paper and said thank you in a very dismissing way as though we had upset them by being there,my daughter then said that the Doctor had said we could arrange an appointment with them, they nastily replied in hospital jargon that the date we needed to be dealt with was June,I cannot put into words how horrid their attitude was but thought I should bring it to your attention as they should not be employed to do this job if they treat everyone like this, it was beyond excuse of a bad day .Sorry to bring this to your attention but it stood out as the rest of the team we met were very nice. Regards Helen Atkins The time was around 2pm on Tuesday 24th Febuary

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Ms Atkins

Thank you for the online feedback regarding your recent experience in our department. I am glad that for the most part your experience of our department was very good.

However, I apologise for the way you were treated by our reception staff. It is disappointing the values and behaviours of the staff you spoke to fell short of what we expect at our hospitals. I will be replaying your experience to all of the reception staff so that they can reflect on the concerns you have raised. We do have some time out days with the reception staff coming up where we will use your concern as a reminder of how poor behaviour can impact on the experience of our patients. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Should you wish to discuss this further you can contact me by email, Hannah.docherty@nuh.nhs.uk or by telephone, 0115 9249924 ext. 66459.

Hannah Docherty, Matron, Head and Neck dept.