"had gall bladder op & still in pain"

About: Charing Cross Hospital

I have three issues; 1/ I still have the same type of pain, except pain more severe & because the pain is so severe I'm unable to stay in work consistently because of the pain & now my jobs on the line! 2/ Secretary has a very rude manerism when I call to chase appointments up, making me feel I shouldn't be hassling her. 3/ GP letter requesting for appointments to be brought forward being ignored & sitting in consultants for over a week not even being looked at! I had my gall bladder removed on 11th Oct 2014. Since then I have been in so much pain(the same pain I have had prior to diagnosis of gall stones). I have attended A&E in St Mary's once, Ealing A&E once & was referred to St Mary's ambulatory service where they carried out a CT scan of my kidney since the operation. I went back to my consultant on an early appointment back in Dec requested by my GP becaiuse I was going out of the country for a month & myself & GP was concerned I may be too ill to travel. My consultant was good enough to see me then & said I was ok to travel after he carried out an ultrasound scan [US)to confirm my bile duck, which showed it was nearly 1 cm dilated at the time of the scan, was s reducing in size albeit slowly. When I told him about the pain he informed it can t be the same pain as I have no gall bladder & laughed, which made me feel a bit stupid! What's to say that there was something else wrong In the first place which caused my gall bladder to malfunction? There were no tests other than the ultrasound scan (US)which showed I had gall stones & I had the opporation soon after. I went back to work after my break & on 2nd Feb had MRCP done which was organised by my consultant while I was away, obviously something had shown up on the US. A week later I was back in A&E, they did all the appropriate tests & checked with Charring cross 're. TCL results and found nothing life threatening but said they could see I was in severe pain & I need to go back to my consultant. So with that in mind I phoned Charring Cross, spoke to the secretary who I found had a rude mannerism while talking to me & made me feel as if was wasting her time. I went back to my GP & she wrote to the consultant to request the appointment be expedited. This was on the 12th Feb & I found out through several chase up phone calls they had received the letter just prior to last Tuesday (17th) & it was in the consultant's in tray waiting for him to come in last Thursday. I phoned again last Fri (20th) & the secretary rudely informed name the letter is with the consultant, she can't do a anything. I phoned again today nothing's been actioned & letter still sitting on his desk waiting for him to action when he comes in on Thursday! Will he action it or has my case become an annoyance, in the mean time I could lose my job because of it!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Charing Cross Hospital

Imperial College healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experince and we sincerely apologise for the distress that you have reported. You have raised significant concerns with regard to your care and it would be important for us to investigate and ensure that your care can be progressed. Please contact our PALS service with your details pals@imperial.nhs.uk so we can assist.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful