"Very rude in how they spoke to me"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford) / Neurology

(as a relative),

I was in the radiology department with my mother who was under going an MRI scan. Every one was so helpful and kind except one Radiographer or Radiology Assistant. Not sure who they were but they were very rude to me on how they spoke to me. This is not good enough for some one working in the care sector. Manners don't cost a thing. This let the whole team down and the R D and E hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rebecca McGuffog, Patient Engagement and Experience Officer, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing your comments regarding your experience in the Radiology Department. I am sorry that the standard of care you have described fell below what we pride ourselves on delivering. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the manager of the Radiology Department to ensure that your valuable feedback is shared with the team for them to reflect upon. Whilst we cannot change your experience, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If this is something you feel able to do, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01392 402093

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Peter Brain, Volunteer, Healthwatch Devon

Dear '001'

The comments and responses on the web-site of Patient Opinion are shared with us at Healthwatch.

This experience you describe was unfortunate, given the successful treatment, and it has drawn an appropriate response from the provider. As you say, the attitude of staff makes all the difference and you may wish to follow up as suggested.

More generally we are building a picture of the provision of services in Devon and these comments will help the NHS and other providers develop and improve their services.

If you wish to discuss any health or social care issues with us in confidence, including seeking advice or information about services, please call 0800 520 0640, or email info@healthwatchdevon.co.uk or go on-line to www.healthwatchdevon.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Peter Brain

Volunteer

Healthwatch Devon is the consumer champion for Health and Social Care in Devon.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you found one member of staff to be rude and the negative impact this had on your visit. The Trust has a very clear set of values and it is always disappointing to note instances where staff have behaved in a way that does not reflect good practice. It is not possible to identify the member of staff involved; however, your comments will be used to remind the entire Radiology team of the expectation for kind and courteous communication at all times.