"poor care for head injury"

About: Furness General Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

i was taken to furness general hospital in mid september 2009 at 18:55 hrs suffering with head injury, i was left unconscious in the A & E waiting area without being looked at in a wheelchair, when i regained consciousness i had to wait another 2hrs in the A & E before seeing a nurse,

i then had to wait another 2 hrs before seeing a doctor, when i saw the doctor I don’t feel that they checked me properly regarding my severe head injury, and only offered me paracetamol tab, and 2 metformin tabs for my diabetes,

i was discharged from the hospital and not kept in for observation for concussion,

i found my experience to be of low nursing care, it has been 1 week today since my incident my head is still badly bruised and I’m suffering with nausea and headaches ,

i have phoned the PALS at furness general and left a message that was 5 days ago no one has been in touch with me

it would of been quicker to go to lourdes in france

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Furness General Hospital

We're really sorry you had such an experience with us. We would like to reassure you that we have always regularly reviewed these comments and passed them to the services concerned. We hope you did manage to contact our PALS service, but if not and you would still like us to investigate please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01539 795 497. Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to comment on our services, and apologies for the delay in responding.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful