"Search for a specialist"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / Urology

(as the patient),

I've had recurring UTI's, kidney infection & incontinence for some time. I waited 7 months for a proctogram and the result went to the consultant in December. I've heard nothing from her since & my quality of life is, if you'll excuse the pun, total crap. I am now search for a Urogynecologist. Please advise if there are any in Scotland and if there are any close to South Lanarkshire. Thanks

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Irene Barkby, Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Irene Barkby

I offer my most sincere apologies for what appears to be a failure to communicate effectively with you about your care and treatment. NHS Lanarkshire and its staff strive at all times to provide high quality care and services and the scenario you describe is therefore not something which should go unaddressed. I would therefore ask that you make contact with our Patient Affairs Manager, Michelle Nobes on 01355 585325 at your earliest opportunity. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  • Madge51 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Madge51 (the patient)

Thanks for the response Irene but it does one no favours to make complaints. It results in secretaries making derogatory remarks on your medical records & consultants who totally lack empathy and knowledge about rarer conditions, treating you like a fool. I complained previously about a doctor who kept me waiting two month before he deigned to explain that he wanted to perform another endoscopy to check for cancer. Here was me thinking that early diagnosis was all important. Not apparently so when a consultant makes remarks on your notes like,;If she doesn't like me etc.,' when I don't know them - to like or dislike. What I find abhorrent is the arrogant & non-empathetic, unprofessional behavior.

Who's to say I wouldn't get more of the same if I took issue with this particular issue, ie almost a year of incontinence & recurring UTI.

Response from Susan Friel, Chief of Nursing Services, Hairmyres Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Susan Friel

Dear Madge51

I would reiterate Irene's comments, above. I also note you had an issue in December too about your outpatient appointments, which Michelle answered at the time. I want Hairmyres Hospital to provide the safest, most appropriate care to all our patients. I would be keen to speak with you about what you need to provide this for you in a timely manner, and I will therefore ask Michelle to put you through to me directly, if you were able to phone.

Thanks

Susan

  • Madge51 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Response from Irene Barkby, Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Irene Barkby

Our Patient Affairs Managers deal with feedback, comments, concerns and complaints and as such you should feel assured that making contact would be helpful to you and allow NHS Lanarkshire to provide you with appropriate support.

You will have noted the response from Susan the Chief Nurse who has asked that your call be put through to her to facilitate discussion about your concerns. I would therefore ask that you consider contacting Michelle and Susan to allow us address your concerns.

  • Madge51 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Update posted by Madge51 (the patient)

Hey what d'ya know. 7 months on & I finally got to see the specialist I asked for way back in Feb. Shame I had to put up with all the pain, embarrassment and negative effects on my life during that time. Can't help feel that it was all an unnecessary waste of time. Why oh why can't clinicians listen to patients and accept that they just might have a valuable input to make into their own care.

Response from Helen Mackie, Chief of Medical Services, Hairmyres Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Helen Mackie

Dear Madge51,

I’m sorry to read about the impact your condition has had on your life; but I’m glad you’ve been seen by the specialist you requested.

You are right, it is really important that healthcare staff listen to patients and that you feel informed and involved in decisions about your care and treatment. I can only apologise if this has not been your experience; but I can assure you that NHS Lanarkshire is committed to providing person-centred care for all patients at all times.

It is my intention to share your story with my medical and nursing colleagues for reflection and learning to highlight the importance of clear communication and understanding “what matters to you” the patient.

If you’d like to discuss your experience in more detail please contact my Patient Affairs Manager on Tel No: 01355 585325.

Best wishes for the future.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful