"Lack of Communication"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

My elderly parent is current on an orthopaedic ward and I am shocked and appalled at the lack of communication from staff, they never introduce themselves, through I suspect fear of being named in a complaint. When they do speak they give conflicting information. This is not the worst of it the lack of dignity they show to elderly patients is appalling. Care, compassion, communication all of these are severely lacking within the nursing and medical staff on the orthopaedic wards. Please do not patronise my post with your typical we are sorry to hear this please contact the matron rubbish as she has been invisible and I would suggest staff follow her poor lead!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am sorry that you feel communication is so poor on the Orthopaedic unit and of course I would hope that you would find me to have a discussion around any issues you have. Whilst we are all aware that communication is not perfect there are senior people on each day ( i.e. Clinical sister, senior sister, Orthogeriatrician consultant, physiotherapists and myself), all of whom are clinical and can give up to date information regarding treatment and discharge plans. Please feel free to ring and make a time to discuss anything to do with your relatives stay and/or the issues you have with the unit. Chris Martin. Matron, Trauma and Orthopaedics. Ext: 3992-3993

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful