"poole maternity 2013"

About: Poole General Hospital

I was admitted to poole maternity June 2013, all was ok until I was in full labour the leg stirrups kept falling down on one side, making me twist every contraction I had. I gave birth naturally to a girl at 5pm, but I was then left till 9pm before being stitched up. After the pain killers had worn off I started to feel unwell - sore and very achy. I was told ''you've just had a baby you will feel uncomfortable.'' Being my first baby I accepted the nurses opinion. Over the next 3 to 4 days I struggled with pain, being told I will feel better soon. On day 4 I came over very dizzy and my legs began feeling heavy, my partner requested a doctor come to see me, he was told I would be put on a list to be seen the next day, he was not happy. About 10 minutes later I had a near fatal seizure (doctors said it was eclamptic fit) so I had had pre eclampsia all through pregnancy, which my midwife missed, although I showed all the signs including seeing flashing lights, pains under ribs and vomiting for 40 weeks. After being in ICU for 2 days I was sent back up to mother and baby ward where I realised I could not move my legs. I was very weak after a lot of medication to stop the fits and had countless bloods taken in ICU leaving my arms badly bruised. Anyway the doctors thought I had broken my coccyx bone in my back so they prescribed me morphine. I later was told by doctors I could not move my legs because it was a side affect from the medication I was given for the fits. I was treated like I was a drug addict by some staff members. One nurse was so vile she wrote in her report of me that we had a conversation where she told me to get off my phone and care for my baby. She then says I told her ''I had forgotten I had a baby''. This was not true. One midwife then called social services and told them I was ''unfit to look after a baby''. SS completed their assessment and decided they had no case. Two midwifes from Poole hospital made what was meant to be the best experience of our lives the worst!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Poole General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have several issues relating to your care in our maternity unit in 2013. Due to the time which has passed, it may be helpful to you to contact the hospital to speak with a member of the maternity services or our patient advice and liaison (PALS) team, as we can look back into your case notes, which may help to clarify some of the points raised. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us by calling PALS on 01202 448003. Kind regards Maria Bennett, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful