"The mushroom syndrome"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

I am still waiting for a date for a gallbladder operation since June 2014. Every time I ring up it goes to voicemail and nobody ever rings me back. All my GP's secretary can find out is that I am still on the waiting list. Very poor communcations. I didn't even choose MRI for this op. I choose N. Manchester but was told (after many phone calls) that it is no longer offered there and all services have been moved to MRI. I had a pre-op in Oct 2014, which has now expired - more waste of NHS money. My christmas was a nightmare and I have had to cancel my easter holiday. I am very fed-up.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experiences in obtaining a date for your surgery.

It is very difficult to be able to respond accurately to the specific concern you have raised without having more of your details so that we can investigate properly and understand why you may have been experiencing a prolonged wait.

We are sorry for the delay in responding to the comment you posted and we hope that you have now received your surgery.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this delay whether you have received your surgery now or not. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences in obtaining a date for your surgery. It is very difficult to be able to respond accurately to the specific concern you have raised without having more of your details so that we can investigate properly and understand why you may have been experiencing a prolonged wait. We are sorry for the delay in responding to the comment you posted and we hope that you have now received your surgery. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this delay whether you have received your surgery now or not. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful