"Can see why"

About: County Hospital (Stafford)

I had operation on 23rd December in another hospital as stafford hospital don't do this procedure. 7 weeks later my scar tissue had opened up which left a hole in my stomach. As it was 8pm I couldn't go drs so went into a&e. Receptionist was ok. But the nurse in the room where you tell them the problem was vile to ask why I didn't travel 30 miles to a hospital to be seen when one 5 mins down the rd is open!!!. Anyway got seen pretty quick Dr came and looked with a student nurse who suggested stitch and swab. Another nurse came who said she'll stitch it after swab. Had swab done then student nurse came to see if I had swab done. Then one nurse came to do swab and dress it (no stitch). And sent me home without any aftercare advice on the way out the other nurse was trying to ask if I had a stitch put in but the original nurse was so rude to her in front of me..had nothing to do with her what she wanted to say to me so why jump to conclusions!!, leaving the hospital we started walking the wrong way and got spoken to like we was little children!! So all the complaints about Stafford hospital is because they lack communication. And sympathy

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Senior Communications Officer, Communications, University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear 'Lou'

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of County Hospital.

May we suggest that you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 08000 40 70 60 or 08000 721 646 or by emailing ADVICE.CENTRE@mail.uhns.nhs.uk.

Thank you