"Poorly trained Midwives"

About: Princess Alexandra Hospital (Harlow)

I had my baby in the PAH in April 2013. I was very disappointed with the treatment I recieved during labor and my aftercare. I found all the midwives to be very disconnected and quite cold 'especially the first one', I had three midwives during my labor and finally the last one was of some use. It took a long time for the delivery 'being my first child' and I recieved very little incouragement from two of the midwives, they seemed very uninterested. My aftercare was poor and it took three months for the hospital to sort this problem out 'with much pushing from myself'. As a first time Mum this hospital left me extremely anxious and annoyed, it took months to recover mentally from the treatment I recieved. I did however have a meeting with the head of midwifery regarding my concerns, but all I had was a standard apologie which in my opinion will never be enough for the anxiety they caused me. If I had to go back here a second time I would be on my guard 'as much as one can be in labour of course'!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Alexandra Hospital

Dear K, It is distressing to read of the difficulties you had in April 2013, particularly the concerns you raise regarding your care. You say you found all of the midwives to be disconnected and cold, with little encouragement and poor aftercare. We need to tackle these questions with you, if you are willing, but of course can only do so with your help. You say you have spoken to the Head of Midwifery, but we would always want to know if you were not satisfied with our response. If there is anything more we can do to satisfy you with regard to the changes we have made since April 2013, we will dedicate time and resources to working with you to do that. Nothing is more important to us than delivering safe, effective, family centred-care so please do get in touch again. We are on 01279 82 70 84, and available Monday to Friday 9.00am to 5.00pm.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful