"Miscarriage - nothing done had to go to a private..."

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I came in because I was 7 weeks pregnant and had heavy bleading and cramps. The doctor told me that is was nothing to worry about and after examining me by touching my stomach only he said he thought I was fine and it is normal in pregnancy. He referred me to the early pregnancy unit mainly "for my peace of mind". The early pregnancy unit could only give me an appointment for a scan on Friday afternoon (this was Monday 11am), even though I told them the doctor said it was urgent. I decided to get a privately paid for scan at a midwife center and found out at a scan there in the afternoon that I miscarried. I dont understand how the hospital would make me wait a whole week to find out and also why the doctor would say he thinks it is fine, when chances are it is not. Furthermore noone told me when to come back, again it was at the midwife center that I was told to go back to A&E in case the bleeding got much heavier or I was in severe pain for a few days. I feel completly failed by your hospital and the doctor and dont understant why I wasnt taken seriously, even though I said bleeding and cramps were quite bad, it doesn't make any sense to me that I cant simply get a scan to check what happend - it is not like it is an expensive or difficult procedure.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, We are incredibly sorry to hear about your experience and can only imagine how upsetting this was for you. If you could please send further details to communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, we would like to follow this up for you as a more formal concern about the help you were offered. If you could please share your name and details, as well as the dates attended, that would really help. If you could also clarify if you were seen in the Urgent Care Centre, or A&E department, that will help us direct this to the right person. Although based at our site, the Urgent Care Centre is staffed and managed by George Eliot Hospital. Kind regards Laura Mort Communications Officer Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful