"7hrs wait from admission until the surgery"

About: City Hospital campus

I understand things happen and sometimes you have to wait longer in a public institution to receive a service, but today's Wait was above any explanation. My wife was told to arrive at the hospital at 7.30am to check in and be prepared for a minor surgery at the Urology Department. At 9am a nurse assisted her to get changed ...and then it started. Patients were coming in and leaving for their operations, but not my wife. At 11am I asked one of the nurses when is my wife's operation scheduled and her reply was that she cannot give me an answer. A12.30pm I lost my patience and I asked another 2 nurses what is going on? At 1.15pm a doctor came and started apologising us and started blaming the system and that my wife surgery was schedule for the afternoon session, but they have to have everyone checked in at 7.30am...Which I do not think is correct, because we saw two other patients coming to the waiting room not before 10am. Ok, I understand the system can be poor, but it does not explain people’s behaviour and not communicating anything to the patient about what and when. Is that really that difficult to speak to someone for 2min? Why nobody came to explain the situation until I started raising my voice to be heard? Eventually my wife was taken to have her surgery at around 14.45pm.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

We are pleased to confirm receipt of your message. We are looking into the concerns you have raised by speaking to relevant colleagues. We will post a fuller response to the comments you have shared with us over the coming days.

Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Marek.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. I am sorry to hear we didn’t keep you and your wife fully informed about your operation and what would be happening next in your wife’s treatment.

I have spoken to the team concerned to remind colleagues of the importance of ensuring we communicate promptly and clear to ensure our patients and their relatives are kept well-informed, mindful of the impact good communication has on patients’ experience in our care.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Beasley-Thompson, Clinical Lead for Cancer and Associated Specialties

Response from City Hospital campus

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. I am sorry to hear we didn’t keep you and your wife fully informed about your operation and what would be happening next in your wife’s treatment. I have spoken to the team concerned to remind colleagues of the importance of ensuring we communicate promptly and clear to ensure our patients and their relatives are kept well-informed, mindful of the impact good communication has on patients’ experience in our care. Kind regards, Stephanie Beasley-Thompson, Clinical Lead for Cancer and Associated Specialties

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful