"Disappointing outcome of cataract surgery"

About: Ashford Hospital

Exactly two years ago today (5th February, 2013) I underwent cataract surgery at Ashford Hospital. The staff were kind, the atmosphere pleasant and the tea and sandwiches particularly welcome afterwards. Unfortunately I was unlucky in the 'lottery' and didn't win the impressive Consultant to do the operation, but one of his team instead. This surgeon neither introduced himself nor gave me any encouragement or explanation on how the operation was progressing. When I removed the bandage the following day I immediately noticed the blinding daylight and massive changes in colour perception. My black suede boots appeared to be coloured violet and any clothes with red or maroon colouring were seen very differently by each eye, causing the two colours to clash violently in the middle of my vision. Having given away the offending items of clothing, there was still the problem of a garden rose being seen as red from one eye and pink from the other. This condition has not improved over two years. The problem of too much blinding light has meant that if I am talking to someone who has their back to a window, I can only see them as a dark, somewhat menacing, shape. I now have to wear sun glasses outside, reading glasses, distance glasses and mid-distance glasses for piano playing and computer work. Although I had previously worn glasses for reading I had just about been able to make out the following without glasses: food sell-by dates, washing labels on clothes, the washing machine dial and the time on my bedside clock. None of this remained possible after the cataract operation. In other words my sight had got worse. Although the Hospital assured me that all was well, it took my local optometrist to confirm my suspicions that the eye had been damaged during surgery. Two years later I am being referred to a different hospital for further treatment. It is hard not to feel envious of friends and relatives who, delighted with their cataract operations, have even been able to cast aside distance glasses worn since childhood. I am wondering how unusual my own disappointment is.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Ashford Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. We are really sorry and concerned to hear that you were disappointed with outcome of your cataract surgery. It is difficult to comment further without more information. Please could you contact our Patient Experience Team on 01932 423553 or email pals@asph.nhs.uk who will be able to investigate this for you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful