"A&E admission"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

This hospital is a joke, my nan was admitted on Friday with chest pain they did tests Etc they told her she had some fluid on her lung and sent her packing with some oral antibiotics and she had to get a taxi home in a great amount of pain, we was not told she had been admitted I found out when I went to see her at home to find her in bed with a fever of 38.6 heart rate >100 in complete agonising pain struggling for breath, eventually readmitted with poor care in a&e sat in a bed in middle of a&e lack of attention from staff, no offer of a drink no regular obs and waited 1 n half before any painkillers to which the nurse didn't even check her name or dob before giving, eventually when she did get a bay she was put on a monitor and realised she was acutely unwell requiring oxygen she stayed on a@e for a total of 16hrs for a bed on a ward and we was told that she should have never been discharged she is now greatly unwell and awaiting a series of tests we had a lot of issues of rude staff ignoring machines beeping when her readings had dropped so low no Dr review for over 3 hrs really really poor care and the list is longer will be attending pals but doubt anything will change

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am very sorry to hear of the experience you describe. Like many hospitals we have also been particularly busy, however at no time is it acceptable for a patient to experience poor care. Unfortunately as I do not have any personal details I am unable to comment on the specific issues that you mention, however I would be very keen to listen to your concerns either in person or by telephone should you wish to contact me or one of my Matrons directly, via the hospital switchboard and request bleep 594. Kind regards, Katy White Head of Nursing and Quality – Emergency Department

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful