"Sitting in my own blood and the nurse didn't seem to care"

About: Royal Orthopaedic Hospital

(as the patient),

I visited the hospital a few weeks back in the day unit, and knew as soon as I left I had to write some think about my experience but wanted to remain anonymous while doing so.

I have on many occasions been to the Royal Orthopaedics (Birmingham) and I have always spoken highly of the hospital for the treatment I have received wether in the Day Unit/Prep for Surgery on to a ward or Out patients, and so has my family.

But a few weeks back I had to go into the Day Unit for a minor procedure, and I was very shocked by one of the nurses on the ward (well I think she was a nurse, she was doing patients notes on the ward), and my she is the most rude and inconsiderate nurse I have ever come across in my life!

One patient was very nervous about her procedure, and when she asked her a question she said ‘oh now be quiet it’s only a minor procedure I don’t know what your problem is’, regardless of how minor or major it is, patients get nervous and you could clearly see she was and I was shocked by what she had said.

When I come back from theatre, she was ‘supposed’ to look after me as I was handed over to her. I have had a similar procedure done, and others at this hospital and they always come over ask how you are and can we check you dressings etc… I had NONE of this! And my dressing had bleed through and all over the hospital gown I was in, when I called her over and tried to be discreet, she was like oh what’s the problem? I told her and she looked and said it’s only blood!

I was sitting in blood and she didn’t care, then when she was speaking to me she was so rude in her attitude, you ready to go home, another patient opposite me picked up on it and was shocked as she made a comment to me.

As I said at the start I have always spoken highly of the Royal Orthopaedics, but this person really needs to learn a better bedside manner, and maybe she has never been through an operation herself and I hope she never does, but if she does have to one day how would she feel been treated the way she was treating patients?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Kealey, Public and Patient Relations Manager, Patient Experience Team, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments and I would like to apologise on behalf of the hospital for the upsetting experience that you had in the Day Unit during this visit.

Without any further details I am unable to act upon the issues that you have identified such as the nurse needing to learn a better bedside manner. Please contact the PALS service to discuss this further if you feel able to, in order for us to be able to discuss your concerns with the individuals involved. They can be contacted on 0121 685 4128

The hospital takes Patient Experience very seriously and this information will also be shared with the Managers responsible for the Day Unit to be discussed generally at a ward meeting.

I hope that this will go some way to reassuring you that we take concerns raised seriously and act upon them wherever possible.

Kind Regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful