About: Royal Stoke University Hospital

I visited my uncle on ward 221 today after being taken in with a kidney infection. The lady at reception was helpful enough in showing me where to find him but once I had entered his room it was obvious he was in some discomfort and needing to go the toilet. My uncle is an 83 year old very proud and independent man and informed me that staff had told him as they were giving out dinners he would have to wait but not to worry if he did go as there was a sheet underneath him! So much for dignity and respect! An hour and a quarter later he eventually got help. I had to sit and listen to a staff member telling patients how marvellous they were under the circumstances and how understaffed they were with 3/4 members of staff sitting at the nurses station the whole time I was there. When asked if someone could help they looked at me like I'd gone slightly mad and told me to wait. I know there are staffing issues but making an 83 year old gent wait that long is not acceptable and the attitudes of some staff very unprofessional!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear 'not impressed'

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospital of North Midlands.

Please can you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.

UHNM Communications Team.