"brilliant ward treatment"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

I was admitted to rbh in December following an allergic reaction after getting antibiotics and required an operation whilst I was there. The ambulance staff were superb and doubtless they kept me alive. The worst part of my experience was having bloods taken as the nurse struggled to get the blood out of my hand and seemed to twist and rag about the thing in my vein for ages! On the ward prior to being operated on I got my own room with a bathroom and shower which would probably put a lot of hotels to shame. It was a little hard to sleep at night but it's a busy hospital so I can't complain. The staff on that ward did a great job of looking after me, keeping me informed and we're happy to let me have visitors late on. The only food I had was a sandwich toast and brews but they were decent. Overall I am glad that my stamps pay for such a good service

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Dear Anonymous Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Emergency Department at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team in the ED, but it would be really useful for me to know which ward you were admitted to so that I can pass on your lovely comments about them directly to the team. Could you possibly contact me either by phone or email on the details below so that I can do so? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Many thanks again for taking the time to comment and best wishes for a continued recovery Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful