"Okay but also hostile"

About: Queen Mary's Hospital (Sidcup)

I went in because 111 asked me to go in after I reported that I had chest pain with exercise and blurred vision. The receptionist was very helpful, as was the nurse who first assessed me. Then I had a very friendly nurse who did the heart tracing. I was seen to quickly, and it looked clean. Then I saw a Female Doctor who was very unpleasant, not at all bothered, spoke to me as if I were not a human but something, and told me to go to A and E. I did not go, I decided to leave it but had I been that urgent that I must go there, how did this Doctor expect me to walk to PRUH Hospital if I were complaining of chest pain through exercise? I told her I walk everywhere, being a carer and ex army medic I deem myself very fit but because of recent chest pain and blurred vision I did not care about myself, I am on a death wish anyway, but I wanted to make sure I could still look after my mother.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Mary's Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. On arrival you went through the triage processes and then went to the Dr. Without being able to look at your individual case I am unable to comment any further on your condition, however, if the Dr advised you to attend A&E it maybe that it was thought that you needed further investigations. With a clean ECG no ambulance was indicated to transport you and I'm sure the Dr was unaware of your personal circumstances and access to other means of transport. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your the care you received and hope you are now on the road to recovery.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful