About: King Edward VII Hospital

I was referred to dermatology back in October 2014 (4 months ago), and was looking to have an appointment this week. 5 days before the appointment, a message was left with my mother that it was cancelled. Upon hearing this I rang first the booking team where I was on hold for 20 or so minutes, and then put forward to the wrong team and then eventually was left having to leave a voicemail (to which I received no response). I then rang the department again and have now have been told that I'm back on a waiting list and that it's impossible to tell when my next appointment will be. That I will be given a new letter with appointment details in due course. I now don't know whether this appointment will be in a few days, weeks or if in fact I will have to wait another 4 months for a new one. Considering I work within hospitals on a day to day basis, I undersand appointments can be cancelled however arrangements should be made before hand in order to avoid inconveniencing patients further. I've previously had to go private because of long waiting lists and was hoping that on this occasion I wouldn't have to. Now however, I am having to reconsider.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King Edward Vii Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with the dermatology department. I am sorry that we cancelled your appointment and have not been able to provide you with another date. I would also like to apologise that you were not able to speak to someone who could help you in a timely way. If you could contact Carole Ford directly on 01344 877152 she will be able to look into what has happened and help to put it right for you. Kind Regards Claire Marshall Associate Director of Patient Experience and Public Involvement

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful