"disappointed due to slow process"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

Last night we brought our 17 months old son to A & E due to some first and second degree burns. He spilled hot tea all over his face neck n shoulder. It took more than 4 hours to get his dressing over shoulder and simple moisturiser for his face and neck.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

We are very sorry that your visit to the Children's Emergency Department did not meet your expectations. At the beginning of January we did experience some long wait times due to the number of patients coming through the department. We try to ensure that all of our patients are seen and treated within a 4 hour window so the matron for the area is sorry that this did not happen in your case. If you would like to discuss this further with her please contact her by emailing susan.timperley@royalberkshire.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful