"Patient Choice"

About: Castle Hill Hospital / General surgery Hull Royal Infirmary / General surgery

(as the patient),

I knew the treatment I wanted and found the specialist to carry it out. My doctor hadn't heard of the treatment. The choice of the hospital to which I was referred didnt include my choice. The specialist I was referred to hadn't heard of the treatment either. I was sent to a hospital which would have been my last choice, for an internal examination.

Needing an operation I agreed a more invasive version of the original one. I was about to enter the operating theatre when the surgeon informed me that it would be the most painful version of this procedure, great. After the operation I was taken to a ward that had no one else with my condition.

The 'choice' I seemed to get was take it or leave it. I never saw the same person twice and the appointment system sent me to a hospital which I wouldn't have chosen at a time that was inconvenient despite me telling them I was away. I heard lots of patients complaining of having not been referred to the hospital of their choice. I was willing to drive anywere to get my operation of choice, never again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Engagement Section Assistant, NHS Hull

Dear CitroenC5 Thank you for posting your comments about your recent experiences with Choose and Book and local hospitals on the Patient Opinion website. We are very sorry to hear that you were not given the choices you expected and that the whole experience was so negative. We have forwarded your comments about the hospital to Hull & East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust, which provides this service, so that they can investigate and respond. However, we would be very grateful if you would contact NHS Hull’s Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) so we can learn more about what happened, why you didn’t receive the choice you expected, and to investigate this in more depth. Our PALS can be contacted on 01482 335409 or by email. Please be assured that your issues will be dealt with by team members in the strictest confidence, and they will do their very best to help. NHS Hull is the organisation responsible for deciding how money is spent on local health services [also known as commissioning], ensuring those services are of high quality and meet local needs. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local services and we hope to hear from you in the near future.
  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful