"Phoned for two days and no answer"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as the patient),

Phoned for two days and no answer. Phones down when I did get through got cut off now got to wait 8/10 weeks for appointment. Doctor gave me antibiotics which did not work, 3 weeks later ask for another sample.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Dear Nature756

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Unfortunately we did experience technical difficulties with the telephone system at the Telford and Wrekin CCG HQ at Halesfield recently which meant that we were unable to accept or make telephone calls. I am sure you can appreciate that these things do sometimes happen and it was out of TRAQS control. We did have a limited number of mobile phones we used to contact patients but unfortunately this did limit the number of patients we were able to contact.

The waiting time for appointments does vary depending upon the speciality and availability of local appointments. It is not uncommon to wait from 8/10 weeks for a routine appointment. Although you do have the option to accept an earlier appointment if you are willing to travel to a hospital out of your local area,

TRAQS always advise patients that if during the time they are waiting they feel that their condition worsens that their best course of action is to speak to their GP to see if they need to change the priority of the referral.

I hope that you are soon feeling better and would like to thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with the team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful