"Poor Communication"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital / Neurology

(as the patient),

Whilst an in patient on Ward 231 I was given a questionnaire to fill in entitled "What our Patients really think of Us". I could either fill it in on the ward, or when I got home via the web site. Unfortunately the link does not work. There are 8 questions and not one of them received a positive answer.

Q1 Would I recommend the Ward? Neither likely or unlikely.

Q2 Was pain kept under control? Not at all.

Q3 Was Privacy and dignity respected? Most of the time.

Q4 If you needed it were you given help to eat or drink? Did not need help as nothing eaten from the menu over the four days I was a patient.

Q5 Were you sufficiently involved in your care/treatment? No. Did not know what was happening until after the event.

Q6 Do you fell treated with compassion? Some of the time.

Q7 Do you feel you were involved in decisions about your discharge? No I was just told I was going home.

Q8. Were you given enough notice about when you were going to be discharged? No, someone - I presume a doctor- came and told me I was going home there and then.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear "Gentree"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospital of North Midlands.

Please can you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.

Thank you and best wishes, UHNM Communications Team.

Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear 'Gentree'

We have completed a Friends and Family Questionnaire on your behalf and are looking into why you had problems with the link.


Healthcare Governance Manager (Patient Experience)